Upgrade your Prayer Life!

Have you ever found yourself praying the same prayer over and over, your thoughts quickly following your mind which is definitely not engaged with your prayer?

I have! Many times! And I am sure if we are all honest we have all dealt with this. So how do we shift our prayers from repeats to powerful? I believe one key is to pray the Word of God!

“How do I do that?” you may ask. For me, I had some help as my late husband spent many hours taking scripture and personalizing it so I have the notes he took. But anyone can pray God’s Word. I would encourage you to find scriptures that stand out to you. For example, I love Proverbs 3:5-6. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he shall direct your path.

To personalize that scripture I pray like this: “Father help me to trust in you with all my heart. Show me how to not depend on my own understanding or thinking. You have said here that if I acknowledge You in all my ways, You will direct or guide my path. I definitely need your direction! Help me to acknowledge or recognize You in all I do!”

I haven’t added or taken away from the Scripture in any way, but instead made it personal for me.

Take Ephesians 1 verses 17-19: this is how I would personalize it.

“Father, I ask that you will give me the spirit of wisdom and revelation as I know you better. I ask that the eyes of my understanding would be opened so I will know what the hope of your calling is- that I would know the riches of your glory of your inheritance which is mine! Help me to know the exceedingly great power that is available to me as a believer!”

Look up words you don’t know and find out what the scripture is really saying to you.

I promise you- praying the scripture is a key to living and learning the power we have within us!

Try it out! There are some excellent resources out there where scriptures are already personalized for you. I will post some links in another blog soon.

Godspeed!

Renae

2 thoughts on “Upgrade your Prayer Life!

  1. What an awesome post, and SO needed in this day and age! I like the way you not only suggest that we personalize the Scriptures, but give examples as well, for those who might be new to the idea. Perhaps you could share a list of personalized Scriptures, here on your blog? Maybe arranged by need, like one of those Bible Promise books? I’m sure lots of people would utilize something like that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment